My new best friend, my foam roller

Sometimes I seriously think Ryan just buys stuff, to buy stuff…ie. the stick, the foam roller, Salus.

AND every time I begin to doubt the necessity of all these things, I NEED them and learn to LOVE them.

~What is the stick?  (http://www.thestick.com/ )

The Stick provides the following benefits:

Prevent & Predict Muscle Injuries
Dramatically improve strength, flexibility and endurance
Rapidly prepare muscles for physical activity
Disperse the effects of lactic acid following activity
Accelerate muscle recovery

If you haven’t tried it, do! 

~What is a foam roller?  (http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/flexibilityandstretching/ss/FoamRoller.htm)

The foam roller not only stretches muscles and tendons but it also breaks down soft tissue adhesions and scar tissue. By using your own body weight and a cylindrical foam roller you can perform a self-massage or myofascial release, break up trigger points, and soothe tight fascia while increasing blood flow and circulation to the soft tissues. 

I have had this intermittent left thigh pain with running for about 6 months.    I finally decided to give the foam roller a try after not having a pain free run for 2 weeks- guess what?  It works!  It provides almost immediate relief- after a fair amount of self-inflicted pain. 

I am pretty convinced I have Illeotibial band syndrome:(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iliotibial_band_syndrome)   I just love how on the top of the list of “activites to avoid” is running.  😦  Well, that is not going to happen.  I am going to run, then roll, and then pray it all goes away soon!  🙂

~What is Salus? It is heaven here on earth.  If you have muscle aches, you should try this stuff!

http://www.shopsalus.com/Muscle-Relief-Gel-Roll-On-p/mrg03.htm

Muscle Relief Gel is a holistic solution for maximum results. Menthol with its quick, cooling relief is enhanced by the deep penetrating and lasting heat of Capsaicin. Our proprietary blend of Arnica, Organic Aloe and pure Essential Oils support recovery and repair to get you back into the action of life.
 

It turns out Ryan is right about all this stuff.  It has helped me immensely over the past week.  I wasn’t pain free on my run today, but I also got immediate relief after using the foam roller when I got home.  (and 8 hours later, I am still pain free)

~Now if I could only figure out how to use the stick or roller on this crick in my neck.  Grrr.

What do you use for injuries or post-workout pain? 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

