Kickapoo Kicker kicked my butt!

image

image

image

image

Let me start by saying that my longest bike ride ever has been 35 miles.  Today I rode 66.5 miles, all up hill(6700 ft of climbing), at the Kickapoo Kicker in Viroqua, WI.  AND it kicked my butt!
We got up at 0245am this am to be out the door by 0330am…I don’t get up before the sun for many things, but a great cycling event, sure. We were rolling on the course by 0730…and a few miles in I told Ryan to GO on his own.  He was doing the 200k and I was doing the 100k.
These hills hurt.  There is nothing like it in MN.  They were persistent and horrible.  My bike needed another gear on these things, and I needed a quad that quit hurting everytime I climbed. I spent a lot of time in my grannie gear.  I even got passed by a grannie going up one, ugh!
I wanted to give up.  I wanted to be done.  I even called Ryan at one point half way up a hill to complain….luckily he didn’t answer.  I probably would have quit! BUT I didn’t…
I finished with an unofficial time of 5 1/2 hours. Hardest thing I have done athletically to date.  Now its time to eat!
And maybe have a recovery drink, aka beer 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kickapoo Kicker kicked my butt!

  1. Renee Hall says:

    Congrats, Kim on your strength and determination!!!

    • Thanks Momma! It was a tough one. I have never wanted to quit an event until Saturday- it hurt. That being said, I am so glad I did it!
      Plus it gave Ryan and I 6 hours of alone time in the ride there and back:)

  2. Pingback: The last Thursday of 2011…reflecting | spinningitall

  3. Pingback: Choosing the right path | spinningitall

  4. Pingback: Kickapoo Kicker 2013 weekend recap… | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

