What are your quirks?

Quirky!  (weird, funny, unique, strange, awesome, cool, odd, cute, fun, quirk, random, different, intelligent, silly, amazing, beautiful, individual, dork, awkward)

Aren’t we all a bit quirky in our own way?

There are certain things that have to happen in order for my day, my ride, my run, my life to go smoothly.  Sure, it is all mental, but it is what it is.  It is my quirk!

I HAVE  to make my bed when I get out of it.  This MUST happen no matter when I get out of it and no matter where I am. (This includes hotels.)  It somehow makes the planets align for me.  My day just cannot start unless this is done.  If Ryan is still in bed, I even “make” my side.  🙂  It doesn’t have to be beautiful or perfect.  It just has to has to be covered.

I HAVE to walk the first 2-3 minutes of my run.  I cannot just open the door to my house and hit the pavement running.  I have no idea why, but I MUST walk until the end of the block before I get my groove on.  Maybe it is my minds attempt to mentally prepare me for what is ahead?!

I HAVE to eat breakfast type foods when I wake up.  This may seem “normal” but when you work night shift and sleep until 2pm, it doesn’t always make sense.  I CANNOT and will NOT eat lunch type food even if it is brought to me on a platter in my bed.  (This has never happened, but I have awoken to Ryan and the boys eating lunch and not been able to stomach it.)  I like breakfast food when I get up, enough said.  ***Today I woke up at 2pm and had 2 cups of coffee and a yogurt and “granilla” (that is what Rowan calls it!).  I am hoping this keeps me full enough til I eat “dinner” before work.  Shift work really screws up my eating schedule 😦

I HAVE to drink water at every stop light while biking (only the red ones silly!).  Doesn’t matter if I am thirsty or not, I will take a drink.  You just never know when dehydration could set it, ha!

I HAVE to keep my pens to myself at work.  I will not let a patient’s hand come in contact with my pen or any other writing utensil I am using.  I have actually had family members ask me to borrow a pen and scrambled to find one, knowing there were at least 2 in my front pocket.  The thought of it really freaks me out.  This is very strange seeing as I do all sorts of down and dirty things as an emergency room nurse.  Wipe your backside sure.  Share a pen, hell no!

What kind of quirky things do you do in your day to day life?

I know I am not the only “weird, funny, unique, strange” person out there!  Have a great day.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

