Everybody’s workin’ for the weekend

…unless of course you are a nurse and it is your weekend to work.  Boo 😦  Something happens to me every year when it gets nice outside, I get a bad case of “Idon’twanttoworkitis”!  (Maybe those school nurses have the right idea after all.)

The hardest part of working weekends, especially 12 hour shifts, is planning meals and exercise and not completely being neglectful of my children to boot. (Yes, I just said “to boot”) The Thursday before my weekend is a mad dash to get it all organized and my house ready for me to be incognito for the next 3 days.

Thursday chores include:

Grocery shopping and meal planning- CHECK.
Turkey burgers with latin quinoa
Spicy chicken stir-fry
Shrimp and Andouille kabobs
Salmon or chicken with veggies
The list also includes lots of yogurt and snacky foods for me to take to work~!

Cleaning the house- semi-CHECK.
Okay- this is one thing I will often opt out of doing if I can’t fit it in my schedule.  I at least do the minimum of vacuuming, wiping down the bathroom and kitchen counters and straightening up a bit (aka toy control). The funniest part of me cleaning on Thursdays is that when I was growing up that was “cleaning day” at my house.  I swore up and down that I would NEVER clean on a Thursday again after I left my parents house.  Well here I am 19 years later, cleaning on Thursdays.  WHY?  Then the house is clean for the weekend ahead.  Why would I want to waste precious weekend time doing housework?!  Great idea Mom 🙂 ***It was nice waking up to a clean house this morning.  By this time tomorrow, it is sure to be littered with dog hair, toys and bike parts.  Oh well, it is clean now!

Laundry- CHECK!
I don’t know if I ever told you this or not, but I REFUSE to do laundry on weekends. Exception only to be made if there is a catastrophic accident that requires immediate attention.  I made this rule up when Rowan was a baby and I have never looked back! Try it, you’ll like it.

I also try to fit a ride in on my bike too- CHECK!
I rode 20.5 miles yesterday and averaged 17.7mph, burning approx. 898 calories.  I LOVE CardioTrainer.  It is REALLY hard to fit a long ride in on my work weekend.  I have succumbed to the fact that my working weekends are running weekends.  I can do a quick 45-60 min run on Saturday and Sunday and still get a great workout in without disrupting too much sleep time or too much of Ryan’s riding schedule.  (He is training for the Leadville 100MTB and needs to get 3-4 hours of riding in on weekend days.)

All in all it is a great trade off…one weekend of hell for 2 weekends off.  Life is a balancing act!

What do you do stay to healthy and on track during the work week?

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

