It’s gettin’ hot in here

I LOVE THE HEAT!  It finally feels like summer.  I can’t believe that two weeks ago, I had to turn my heat on at night and now the air conditioner has ran for 3 days straight.  Gotta love Minnesota weather.  We went from winter to summer this year!

Ryan’s group ride was cancelled due to the heat (104F) yesterday-  Let’s go on record and say that has never happened before!  Crazy.  Lucky us, we got a rare Tuesday night as a family.  We decided to put our health club money to use and hit the pool with the kids.  I did a quick 3 mile run on the treadmill first and then just enjoyed swimming with the boys. Ryan did a few laps in the pool and then joined us for the fun.

Ryan and I are not swimmers.  We can run and we can bike, but swim, not so much.  Sure we can actually swim.   What I mean is, we can not swim any great distance or with efficiency.  We have, however, been contemplating doing the Nautica South Beach Triathlon (http://www.nauticasobetri.com/) the past few years with one of Ryan’s brothers, who lives in NY.  I think we have finally committed to doing it next April.  This is HUGE!  This even scarier to me after realizing I would need to do about 64 pool lengths to equal 1 mile (the distance of the swim in the olympic distance).  I am not sure I could even do 4 consecutive laps at this point.  I will have A LOT of work to do over the winter if we move forward with this plan.  YIKES!  ***I wonder if they allow water wings on the course 🙂 I digress.

Nothing tops a great evening by the pool better than a nice glass of chilled Pinot Grigio and a lovely dinner.  At this time of year, I love making my whole meal on the grill.  There is no way I was turning the oven on when it was that hot outside!  Last night we made this meal in 10 minutes!

Tuna steaks- drizzled with EVOO, sea salt and pepper.  (Grill 3 minutes each side for medium rare.)

I made an aluminum foil pack filled with tomatoes, kalamata olives, onion, EVOO, and balsamic vinegar. (Grill 6 minutes)

I threw on some zucchini drizzled with EVOO, sea salt and pepper (Grill 3 minutes each side and top with feta cheese when plated.)

Then I made my grandma’s creamy cucumber salad, yum!  One large cucumber sliced and 1/2 white onion diced, mixed with the following: 1/4 cup mayo, 1 T balsamic vinegar, dash of salt and pepper, 1  tsp of sugar,  and splash of milk.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Fish, Salad, Tri training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

