R-E-S-T

I woke up this morning and looked at my workout calendar. Today was a designated “REST” day!  Part of me feels relief, while the other part of me feels guilt.  I know that taking a day off from exercise is ok and actually a good thing for my body and for my overall performance.  Muscles need to repair, rebuild, and strengthen.  As a parent it is essential to take a day or two away from the workout and just focus on family time, but why does it always feel so wrong at the end of the day?

Here it is 7:45pm and I feel a void. Guilt. I had a full day.  I went to the grocery store.  I cut the lawn.  I ran in the sprinkler with the boys.  I de-haired the dogs.  I have some chicken marinating in homemade tandoori sauce.

Heck, it is 94F here today~I don’t want to be outside running anyway.  The air conditioner feels good! (Trust me, I rarely like the air conditioner on, but today is a MUST.) Yet, here I am wishing I could go for a quick jaunt around the block or maybe do a quick loop on my bike.  I guess exercise has become habit, and I am okay with that 🙂

I googled “exercise habit” and this is what I found:

  • Stick to a regular time every day. (Makes sense, but no way can I do this.)
  • Sign a contract committing yourself to exercise. (aka sign up for an event)
  • Put “exercise appointments” on your calendar. (make a cool calendar like mine)
  • Keep a daily log or diary of your exercise activities. (I like CardioTrainer for HTC)
  • Check your progress. Can you walk a certain distance faster now than when you began exercising? Or is your heart rate slower now? (check your pace/ speed often)
  • Ask your doctor to write a prescription for your exercise program, such as what type of exercise to do, how often to exercise and for how long. (WHAT?  This seems absurd to me.)
  • Think about joining a health club. The cost gives some people an incentive to exercise regularly. (I have never been happier since joining LifeTimeFitness.  It gives me sanity in the long winter months.)
This is kind of what I feel like today~

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

