How to make your own dressing

Garlic Orange Dressing~

2 T EVOO                                       
juice of 1 orange
zest of 1 orange
1-2 cloves garlic, pressed
dash of cayenne pepper
sea salt and pepper to taste
fresh parsley

This is one of my favorite dressings to use. It is super versatile and if you don’t happen to have an orange lying around you can use a few tablespoons of OJ or use a lemon instead.

My favorite toppings to use with this dressing are the following:
golden or red beets (no surprise here…I could eat these on my oats for breakfast)
goat cheese
chicken or salmon (see BBQ salmon salad recipe)
pecans
orange slices

Making your own salad dressing is a much healthier option than your average store-bought version.  It is simple to do and if you just have a few ingredients on hand at all times, you can easily whip up your own version in just a few minutes.  I suppose you could also make a whole bottle at a time, but I find making it on the spot works best for my taste buds.  I can adjust the flavors by changing up one to two ingredients and also I don’t have to worry about it going bad if I don’t use it.

Here is a list of things to keep on hand so you can make your own dressings too~
EVOO
balsamic vinegar
fresh acidic fruit (lemon, orange, lime)
garlic
cayenne pepper
sea salt
ground pepper
fresh herbs (parsley, basil, mint, rosemary)

Just experiment with flavors YOU like.  Be ADVENTUROUS with your cooking.  Be healthy. Add a little GOOD fat (EVOO, flaxseed oil, nuts, almond butter, fish, avocado) to your meals and mix up your protein choices.  You CAN change your eating habits one choice at a time!

Check out the new USDA’s new food icon, MyPlate, that was revealed yesterday. (replacing the food pyramid)  http://blogs.usda.gov/2011/06/02/usda-unveils-new-simple-tips-to-stay-healthy-active-and-fit/  I am not sure that I like it.  Most people do not eat this way every meal.  I don’t eat veggies for breakfast, do you?  Granted, I sometimes put a little spinach in my smoothies, but in general, there are not veggies on top my steel cut oats in the morning.  There is also no emphasis on fats, and personally I think too much of the plate is taken up by grains.  I would rather it focused on fresh fruits and vegetables. AND being active!  What are your thoughts on the change?


About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Salad, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

