National Running Day

Happy National Running Day!

I hope this message finds you relaxing on the couch with your significant other and a nice glass of wine… after enjoying a beautiful day and hopefully a run.

Whether you have never ran before, haven’t run in a few months or year, or run everyday, TODAY was a celebration of the running lifestyle.  Running is one of the easiest, cheapest, most convenient ways to stay fit.

Someone ask me the other day, “How did you start running?”  Good question~ I had been biking for a few years and had been “dedicated” to getting back into shape after having my second son.  I had stuck with the elliptical and the trainer in the basement for most the winter of 2007-08 and by Spring I was done with being inside.  I remember, my mother-in-law was visiting at the end of March,  and I just looked at Ryan and said, “Want to go for a run?”  He didn’t question it and just said, “Sure.”  Off we went around the “dog walking route” in our neighborhood.

HOLY CRAP was it hard.  My lungs were burning so bad after a 1/4 mile, I had to stop and walk.  I remember saying, “Why is this so hard?”  Ryan so politely said, “Um honey, you haven’t run since high school?!”  My official answer was *insert whining yet pissed off voice*, “F off! I have been working out!  This shouldn’t be this hard.”  So then I walked a bit and ran a bit more and walked a bit and then ran the rest of the way home.  (a whole 1 1/2 miles)

A few days later, after my initial ego bruise and thigh burn, I did it again.  This time I tried to run further than I walked.  I have no idea what my pace was~  probably 12-13 min miles.  AND from that point on I grew.  I got stronger.  I ran a few times a week in between biking workouts.

A year later, I was running 3 times a week, and did my first duathlon.  It just took persistence and commitment.  Now it is a lifestyle, my me time, my clear my mind time, my get faster and leaner time, my push yourself harder and don’t give up time.

…I will forever be grateful.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Running Day

  1. Renee Hall says:

    Ummm…shouldn’t that say “the world’s bestest” mother-in-law? ♥

Leave a Reply

