13.1 Minneapolis 2011

13.1 Minneapolis 2011 | Minneapolis, Minnesota 55417 | Sunday, August 21, 2011 @ 7:13 AM.

Okay, so I did it.  I signed up for another half marathon.  I sat down yesterday and organized my work-out and events calendar through the end of October.  Yes, I am a nerd, but I seriously do better with visualizing what I need to do.  Plus, my kids enjoyed the time I spent “coloring” with them.  It was a win-win situation:)

Here it is in all it’s school-aged glory———> 

It basically serves as a guideline to my training.  There may be days that I can’t run or bike, and there may be designated “run” days that I would rather bike.  The main thing is that at some point during the week, I need to get those activities in.  It makes me accountable to my running.

I really was going to plan on doing a marathon by the end of the year, but can’t find one that would be doable.  The Twin Cities Marathon is the same weekend as an out-of-town wedding we are attending. 😦  The out-of-state ones would require a lot of planning and babysitters, etc…  I think it would be in my best interest to do my first marathon in MN.  No travel equals less stress for me.  I am going to set my goals on doing a second half at the end of October.  It will be a great way to end my race season for the year.  The marathon will have to wait until Spring/Summer 2012.  Mark my words, I am doing one!

Other than coloring and planning workouts, I actually got to spend some time in the woods with Ryan last night mountain biking.  It was my first time out in the woods and it was scary, nerve-racking, exhilarating, fun, and hard!  I only hit one tree and took one minor fall 🙂  Once I was able to look ahead and not down, I really got around the trees no problem.  It is amazing how easy that works!  I didn’t like the rocky parts, and got off for two log jumps…but overall, it was a blast and I can’t wait to get out there again.


About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Races, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 13.1 Minneapolis 2011

  1. herrsolera says:

    Your first marathon will be unforgettable, regardless of when or where it is. However, if you make it close to home, it will be much more special and unique because it increases the chances of knowing exactly where you are every step of the way. My first was in Chicago, where I live, and the experience was unbelievable.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

