5 days off will not happen again!

It is amazing how a little cardio can lighten my mood.  I took 5 days, FIVE WHOLE DAYS, off from exercise last week. This is the first time I have taken that many days off in over 2 years.  I HATED IT!  I just felt amazingly crappy and my lungs hurt like never before:  I figured my body needed some down time to fully recover.

I may not be fully recovered, since I am still hacking up some unknown phlegmy substance.  BUT, I have a perma-smile today:)  Yesterday was a good day!

I had a chance to play on my new-to-me mountain bike.  (I am sure he isn’t reading this, but THANK YOU! Matt for letting me borrow your Titus Moto-Lite this summer.)  Ryan gave me a mini-beginner’s camp in our front yard.  I would like to say I successfully completed Mountain Bike 101.  Our neighbors already think we are crazy about bikes, so why not prove just how crazy we are, right?!  The boys and I were riding around and under the pine trees, jumping off the driveway ledge and just having a blast.  A blast, until there was a minor collision between the two boys and then screaming and tantrum ensued:( Which was a big sign from above that said, “Go on a run!”

Run, I did!  It was the first time I ran in a week.  I just did a quick 2 miles- averaging a 8:30 pace.  It felt pretty good, minus the end when I coughed up a portion of my lung.  Gross! Just one question:  how can I not ride my bike for 5 months over the winter and be able to hop right on the saddle and feel like I didn’t miss a step (hills and wind not included)? Yet, one week off of running and I feel like I never ran a day in my life? Running is so wonderful and horrible at the same time.  It really has no forgiveness.  Hey running me, CUT ME SOME SLACK!

I have come to realize that in order to stay on track with running, I need to have defined goals.  I am contemplating signing up for a half marathon at the end of August and maybe, just maybe, a full marathon by the end of the year.  Training structure is good for me.  It keeps me accountable.

If you are reading my blog and like it, vote for me daily in the upper right hand corner.  Thanks.

Leave comments.  I love to hear what you have to say:)

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 days off will not happen again!

  1. Kylie says:

    I know what you mean about running and having goals. I’m at a point where I really need to up my goals but ugh like you said running is brutal. I love it but it is relentless and one day is not another for me–totally depends on my mood and energy level. I get comfortable too easy! Maybe do intervals or sprints to break things up and pick up speed? Good luck and see ya in August.

    • I am planning on doing the Minneapolis 13.1 on August 21st when you guys are here. You should do it with me! The race starts at 0715 so it will be done early enough for us to still enjoy the day.

      • Kylie says:

        Wow this might be a great idea! I’ll look into it.

      • I have a great 12 week training program if you decide to do it. Put in this code on Active.com for $13.10 off : MNSALE2011 (it took me 2 times) Good thru May 23 at 2359 🙂

Leave a Reply

