Happy Mother’s Day!

Motherhood brings as much joy as ever, but it still brings boredom, exhaustion, and sorrow too. Nothing else ever will make you as happy or as sad, as proud or as tired, for nothing is quite as hard as helping a person develop his own individuality especially while you struggle to keep your own. -Marguerite Kelly and Elia Parsons

I don’t think you can ever properly prepare yourself for motherhood.  Before you have children you have all these wonderful theories on how to bring up children. You think to yourself that you will never say certain things or do the some of the same things that your parents may have done. You go from worrying your whole pregnancy about what foods you can or can’t ingest or what you may potentially come in contact with that could cause some horrible birth defect ~ to FULL THROTTLE ahead once that baby is expelled (or taken out) from your uterus.  It is over-whelming and wonderful and scary.  It is the greatest joy in the world.

The number one lesson I have learned in the past 6 years is:  LOVE them, especially when they least deserve it!  You are only given one chance to make their childhood amazing and memorable and happy.

I struggled for a few of the early years with my own identity. I wondered to myself, “Is this all I am now?  Someone who produces milk and cleans up poop all day, ugh.”  BUT then like clockwork, my son would giggle or hug me or coo or do any of those other wonderful things that babies do to make you melt…AND I remembered that I was doing what I was meant to do.  I was (and continue to be) a MOM.

I wish I would have looked to exercise as an outlet then, but I didn’t 😦 Today I know that I am a better mom because I exercise and take care of myself.  I am in better control of my emotions.  I am happier.  I have reclaimed my own identity.  Mostly, I am teaching my children that being healthy and active is the only way to live.

Today I received three wonderful gifts.

THE BEST was this!

Coming in a close second was this!  Thanks to my husband for my brand new TIME mountain bike pedals.  I am starting a new cycling journey this year and giving mountain biking a whirl.  I have been to SO many mountain biking events over the past 10 years, but always standing behind the barriers or acting as a support crew.  This year I am claiming my inner-mountain biker:)  These will surely help me on the journey.

Third is my new ROAD ID!  It is still in the mail.  I will post a pic of it asap.  All you need to know is it is pink and it could save my life someday.  AWESOME.  http://www.roadid.com/Common/default.aspx

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

