Do you call yourself a cyclist?

While getting on all my riding gear today, Ryan ask me, “Do you consider yourself a cyclist?”  My answer, “Yes!” (This conversation came up since I posted the other day that I don’t consider myself  “a runner”.)  We had a brief discussion about why it seems so odd that someone will very easily take on the title of cyclist, but to the contrary, could run for years and not consider themselves a runner.  WHY?  Well, just a simple google search for the definition kind of answered the question for me.

The official definition of a cyclist is:

Noun 1. cyclistcyclist – a person who rides a bicycle

The official definition of a runner is:

run·ner/ˈrənər/Noun

1. A person who runs, esp. in a specified way: “a fast runner“.
2. A person who runs competitively as a sport or hobby: “a marathon runner“.  More »

SEE!  Even the word “runner” is defined as “fast” or “marathon runner”!  WHY?  I have no idea, but now I feel I have proved my point.  (For now)

I am a cyclist.  I LOVE to ride my bike.  I even rode today.  It was 34 degrees with a windchill of 27 degrees.  There was a 20mph wind with gusts up to 34mph AND there were flurries in the air. (I thought it was May 1st?!)

This does not depict normal May riding apparel.  I have on wool socks, shoe covers, tights with wind guard, thick gloves, ear warmers, and my winter jacket.  Something is definitely wrong here!  BUT, it was a BLAST 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you call yourself a cyclist?

  1. Renee Hall says:

    You continue to inspire! Sadly, my predicament is leaving the house @ 6:15 a.m. and getting home at 6:15 p.m…doesn’t allow much time for a bike ride.

Leave a Reply

