To join or not to join?

I have been invited to join a running club with a group of ladies, of whom I only know the person organizing the club. Part of me wants to join and see what this “club” is all about, but the other part of me is intimidated by other runners. WHY? I have no idea! Maybe it all goes back to the fact that I don’t call myself a runner? Maybe I am afraid I will be the slowest person in the club?

The benefits to joining are:
1. stepping out of my comfort zone
2. being motivated to get out for a long run at least once a week
3. pushing myself to go faster, because let’s face it, I don’t want to be the slowest
4. meet other runners (this is part of the stepping out of my comfort zone)
5. get some advice from experienced racers on how to improve my times

The negatives (in my mind only):
1. having to meet on specific day and time (This is hard with work and family.)
2. I really like running alone. (When I run or ride my bike, I don’t have to talk or listen to anyone. This is huge for me. I am constantly surrounded by noise. Dogs barking. “Mama, Mama!” “Carson hit me.” “Rowan said he didn’t like me.” You get the idea.)
3. I don’t run at a consistent pace. Sometimes I am a 8:30 and other days a 9:30.
4. I don’t need the motivational aspect of a club. I am my own motivation. I am very hard on myself.

I am sure there is a running club out there for me. There are people who maybe share the same fears and don’t necessarily like talking while working out. Let it be noted that I am not anti-social. I will gladly talk before and after a run, but asking me to talk during running is torture. I am usually breathless and sitting around my AT (anaerobic threshold). I often wonder how some people can talk the entire time they are working out?! I am not that talented.

I like the idea of a group of ladies, mostly mom’s in the group I am talking about, getting together without the kids to exercise. I think every mom should do some sort of regular aerobic activity. It teaches our children that health and exercise are an important part of life. I want my kids to know that eating the right foods and regular exercise are the BEST thing you can do for your body. I should maybe teach my kids that stepping out of your comfort zone is healthy too. Decisions. Decisions.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To join or not to join?

  1. elizabethhoward1 says:

    I have a hard time too because I am not the fastest runner! My husband can run a mile in under 5 minutes so I always feel a little intimidated when we do things together. So, needless to say I love to run and bike alone because I am only comparing myself to myself and not others. But your badge is correct, we are making laps around the people on the couch! Saying that, you do run faster than me! 🙂 Running with others may even help you run better and faster! I am Elizabeth, btw. I came across your blog today! Have a great day!

    • Thanks Elizabeth! My husband is a cyclist. He runs 3-4 times a year and still manages to kill my pace and can do 6 miles without even trying. MEN! 🙂 Way to conquer your arch enemy on the bike! I can never decide which is worse, hills or headwind? I think I will take the hills, because there is usually a downhill on the other side. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

