Stop and smell the flowers

In this world filled with so much technology, it is important to slow down every once and awhile and take in the sights and sounds around you.  I challenge you all to take a 30minute run, bike ride, or walk without your ipod and just soak in the sounds of nature. Really listen… to the birds singing, the wind in the trees, your breathing.

I often get caught up in the stress of every day life and forget what a precious gift this day is.  We are given a new beginning each day.  We can make changes.  We can be a better person.  We can try to be a better Mom (or Dad or husband or wife).  We can be healthier.  We can get stronger and faster.  We have a chance everyday to improve ourselves.

I needed to surround myself in happy things today.  So, I headed to the greenhouse with the boys and took in the sights and smells of blooming flowers. We spent some time just smelling and listening to nature. I am ready to have some mud under these fingernails again.

Who loves a garden loves a greenhouse too.
~William Cowpwe

In my garden there is a large place for sentiment.  My garden of flowers is also my garden of thoughts and dreams.  The thoughts grow as freely as the flowers, and the dreams are as beautiful.  ~Abram L. Urban

Gardening is about enjoying the smell of things growing in the soil, getting dirty without feeling guilty, and generally taking the time to soak up a little peace and serenity.  ~Lindley Karstens, noproblemgarden.com

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stop and smell the flowers

  1. Renee Hall says:

    Fabulous post Kim! And beautiful pictures! I will definitely stop and “smell the flowers” today!

Leave a Reply

