It was too wet to play

“I know it is wet and the sun is not sunny.                                   But we can have lots of good fun that is funny.”

It is so hard to stay upbeat and motivated when the skies are so gloomy… but I have goals and I am committed to them.  I want to knock more time off my runs.  I want to be a faster and more efficient cyclist.  I contemplate the thought of signing up for a marathon briefly each day, but am so fearful of possible failure that I just haven’t done it yet. I read a great quote yesterday, “It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.” I seem to think I am not a runner.  Why?  I run.  I run several times a week.  I ran a half-marathon.  SO, why can’t I still call myself “a runner”?Maybe I am waiting for that moment when it seems effortless or when I perfect my stride or I can go out and run a consistent split each mile along the way?  Who knows!

On days like these I wish I could just curl up with a good book, have a fire in the fireplace, and doze off and on throughout the afternoon.  BUT, I have two little minds to entertain.  So, I tried my best to occupy them with rainy day activities.  We went to the library and picked up a bunch of new books.  We put on                                                                              our rain coats and boots and threw some stale bread to “our” ducks.  (We have a male and female duck that hang out in our yard every year from early April through early May.  They are so adorable, and I have grown quite possessive of them.  He is the ultimate gentleman.  He let’s her eat first and keeps his eyes on guard, protecting her constantly. They make me smile.)

The best part of the day so far was our cookie baking.  What is better on a cold, rainy day then a warm cookie, fresh out of the oven?  Today we made Coconut-Oatmeal-Raisin-Reese’s Pieces Cookies.  Sounds like a lot of ingredients you say?! My thought is you can never have enough “garbage” in your cookie or on your pizza.  Here is the recipe I used as a guideline.  I cannot follow a recipe exactly as it is shown.  It is something I inherited from my grandmother.  A recipe is a guide to the basic ingredients, but I feel you should always add your own sprinkles.  http://www.food.com/recipe/coconut-oatmeal-raisin-cookies-168893

      Rain, rain go away.  Come again some other day!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in C is for cookie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It was too wet to play

  1. Renee Hall says:

    Even rainy days are super fun at the Hall house!

Leave a Reply

