Spring into Saturday

Who wouldn’t want to wake up to two little smiling faces saying, “We want to snuggle.”?  There is no better way to start a day.  Coming in a close second is Ryan saying, “Your coffee is poured.” I am addicted.  I love a good cup of coffee and I most definitely prefer it in a mug.  There is something special about the way a coffee mug feels in your hand and how heavy it is.  My current favorite is my half-marathon mug (see post on races).  At first I thought, I ran a half-marathon and all I got was this lousy mug.  Then I realized it was the best race schwag I have gotten.  I don’t need another t-shirt in my drawer.  My mug I raise every day with gratification that I have come this far along my journey.



This morning I made a berry-spinach smoothie for a mid-morning snack.  It helps us all maintain our sanity until we get closer to lunch time.  Ryan also needed a little pre-race “meal” do drink on his way to Cannon Falls for the second road race of the season.  

One of the hardest things as a working mom is planning 4 days worth of meals when I will be at work most of the weekend.  I want to bring a yummy and healthy meal to eat while I am working and I also want to have something quick and nutritious for Ryan to throw together for the boys. Today I made my favorite salad:

CARROT-APPLE SLAW

  • 4 cups shredded carrots                       
  • 1 cup shredded apple
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup light mayo
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • coarse black pepper to taste

Today is a typical spring Saturday.  Ryan will be gone until I need to leave for work, which leaves me scrambling for ideas on what to do on this gloomy, wet day. I need to get another run in today, but it looks like it will be on the treadmill.  That way I can take the boys to the gym with me and let them get rid of some energy too. I am over this crappy weather.  I am ready to say “see ya in November” to the gym.  I want to feel the wind at my back and the warmth of the sun on my face.  Maybe tomorrow?!

Please leave comments!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Pre-race nutrition, Salad. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring into Saturday

  1. Ana says:

    I am so damn proud of you! Seriously… you can do ANYTHING woman!
    I love that you have a blog… a little inspiration for me to get my butt moving! And that food looks delicious, I’m gonna have to give it a try!

  2. Thanks for leaving me a comment:) No one leaves me any feedback. I want feedback, bad.

Leave a Reply

