There is no time to be sick

At the first sign of a cough or runny nose, be it mine or my boys, I start the process of kicking up my immune system.  I take my regular vitamins and eat healthy on a daily basis, but when it comes to a potential cold, I reach for my Emergen-C packs and Immunity Broth (http://www.jonkaiser.com/educate/recipe/immunitybroth.html).

Like any mother, it is inevitable that my boys will bring home some nasty virus from school or the gym.  It just disrupts everything in our lives, but mainly zaps my energy. I constantly fight with the internal battle of whether or not I can still do my normal workout. I usually continue on with stride and pay for it later in the evening by being more run down than normal.  The nurse in me says, “Rest and Fluids.”  The athlete in me says, “Run Forest Run.”

I rode my road bike 17.5 miles yesterday in the cold and wind. I really don’t feel any worse today than yesterday.  I still have a nagging headache and sore throat, but tolerable at this point in the day. I think I am gonna stick with exercising my way through the illness.  I know how I get when I don’t get my daily fix of cardio and it is not pretty.  I am a crabby and unfocused mess by dinner time.  Today I will kick this cold to the curb and maintain my sanity by going on a run.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in soups, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

