Lunch funk

I eat 95% of meals at home.  Breakfast is a no-brainer.  I don’t even give it any thought these days.  I converted from an avid cereal eater to an avid Irish oats eater.  I think I ate cereal for breakfast 360 days a year for the past 36 years.  Around December, Ryan and I decided to try Irish Oats and haven’t looked back since, minus the occasional smoothie if I am in a rush to get out the door.  Oats, 1/2 a banana, a few berries and 1 tsp of unfiltered honey and I am ready to start the day.   I think I feel better and less bloated since ditching the cereal routine.

I am usually hungry by 1100am and that is a perfect time for my daily dose of greens with protein.  We use Olympian Labs Ultimate Greens with Protein 8 in 1. I usually mix it with a little almond milk and beetroot juice and seems to keep me filled up until lunch. Ahhhh, lunch.  What to have for lunch?  I almost think it’s harder when you stay home to keep lunch interesting.  I am over sandwiches.  We eat those almost every day, blech.  Salads are tasty, but most days that is what I am making for dinner and I often don’t have any extra toppings lying around to use.  I am trying really hard to stay stocked up on grilled chicken.  It makes the idea of a quick lunch salad seem less daunting.

My goal is to keep stocked up on grilled meat, always have a hard boiled egg handy, and to keep some cooked wheatberries in the fridge.  Bagged spinach is a must have in our house.  We LOVE spinach.  I even throw a handful in our smoothies in the morning- try it!  It packs a ton of vitamins and you seriously can’t even taste it with all the other fruit you throw in.  The kids usually still get a sandwich but I try to mix it up a bit.  I always give them some fresh veggies with hummus, some fresh fruit, and throw in a little crunch from a pretzel or chip so they think they are really getting something special:)  Oh, and of course, you have to have a pickle with any sammy!  I still am not a fan of lunch.  I never know what I want to eat at that time of day.  A continued battle…

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Kids Meals, Salad and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

