Salad savant?!

My husband, Ryan, calls me a “salad savant”.  I am not sure that I am a savant (from the French savoir “knowing”) but rather just someone who enjoys fresh ingredients all blended together in a bowl.  It is a form of art for me.  The presentation is important, but it’s the medium (in this case the dressing) that matters most.

I can’t stand store bought salad dressing.  The fat content (and by fat, I mean the bad fat) is ridiculous. Even the “good” store bought dressings state “No artificial anything” and contain things like xanthan gum and citric acid, and my biggest pet peave, “all natural flavorings.”  How can it be “natural” flavorings but not contain actual ingredients found in nature?!

I want my “dressing” to be fresh.  One of my favorites is my bruschetta dressing:        

  • 1 chopped tomato
  • 1/2 chopped red onion
  • handful of torn basil leaves
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 T EVOO
  • splash of balsamic vinegar to taste

        Now this is natural ingredients!             

A handful of fresh greens, top it with some “dressing” and add a grilled steak  Voila!

I wasn’t always a foodie or a salad snob.  I wasn’t always an athlete or mother either.  It was a gradual transformation like any other life change.  I am still trying to figure it all out. Join me on the journey!

I will post some of my fun and delicious salad recipes soon. Stay tuned.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Salad savant?!

  1. Angie Ryden says:

    Yay girl! I’ll happily read and use everything you share! Way to go!!

  2. Amanda Burbach says:

    I still love your white bean and spinach dip! Sooooooo GOOD!

  3. Pingback: Unprocessed October | spinningitall

  4. Pingback: Happy 1 Year Blogging Anniversary to Me! | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

