It will never be enough.

poem

Today my dad would have been 70 years old.  Seventy!  Happy Birthday Dad!  

You know it’s weird… but I really don’t have many photographs of just me and him.  I wish I would have taken more photos when I was younger.  I guess, like most of us do, I just took our time with each other for granted.  Please don’t take anyone in your life for granted.  It can all change in a blink of an eye.  Take photos!  Create lasting memories.

You know it’s weird… but I feel more sad for my mom and my kids than I do for me (now).  I am the lucky one.  I got 25 years with my amazing Dad.  BUT, my mom should have had her lifetime, her retirement, her “golden years”.  AND, my kids should have had the chance to know their Grandpa… to fish, to hike around at the cabin with, to eat ice cream with, to love. 

You know it’s weird…he has been gone for almost 14 years and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of him.  It’s the little things.  House projects.  Lawn maintenance.  A Ford pick-up truck.  What to do when XYZ go wrong?  Little celebrations.  My goofy boys. 

Is it weird to still celebrate a birthday when some is no longer on this earth?  I don’t think so.  Today my boys, Ryan and I celebrate… My Dad, a father-in-law, a Grandpa.  We miss you! Wishing you could share an Izzy with us one day.
image

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It will never be enough.

  1. beerbikegirl says:

    So now you made me cry.

  2. Renee says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRANDPA SCHRAB! I never had the chance to meet you, but I know anyone who has a daughter like yours HAD TO HAVE BEEN A GREAT MAN. Thank you for letting me have her in my life! I hope you are looking down on your family with joy! They are MORE THAN AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

