Spring salad with roasted chickpeas

wpid-img_20140415_202817.jpgDressing:
1/4 c rice vinegar
1/2 T coconut sugar (or any sugar you want)
1 tsp sea salt
(adjust to liking)

Salad:
2 cucumbers, sliced
1 red pepper, sliced
1/2 red onion, sliced thin
Handful of cilantro
1 cup peanuts
(a little feta would be good too!)
1 can chickpeas, roasted

It may not feel like spring here in MN, wpid-img_20140414_185809.jpgbut sooner or later, it has to show up.  Right? Right!  I can’t take it anymore.
I am super sick of riding the trainer and promised myself last week (after 4 outdoor rides) that I would not stick my bike back on the trainer until November.  Guess what? I lied.  I was back in the basement Monday night.  Ugh.  I refuse to ride outside when the feels like temp is 32F.  Gross.

On a better note, I did run 2 miles last night and felt fabulous the entire time.  Yippee for very sporadic 1 in 10 great runs :) 2 miles in 18 minutes flat.  (That is pretty fast for me.  Especially when this was my 2nd run in 6 months.)  Why can’ t they all be like this one?!

Dear MN,
You suck right now.  I want to love you, but I can’t.  Please bring me some 70F and sunny days with no wind and I will reconsider.   Almanzo 100 is only 4 weeks away.  Lord (and Mother Nature) help me.
Thanks,
Kim

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Healthy meals, Paleo, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring salad with roasted chickpeas

  1. Ann Rausch says:

    I haven’t gotten an outside run in yet this spring. I am dreading what it will be like since it always seems harder to run for me outside. This year I won’t have my running companion – she aged a lot this winter and now has no sight or hearing. I am going to have to borrow my friend’s dog.

    I think I have made a salad like this before – I’m the only one who will eat it in our family. I add cherry tomatoes instead of the peppers (I hate peppers).

    • As weird as it sounds, I prefer outside running to the treadmill. I think it is easier- weird, right?!

      How can you hate peppers? They are a staple in our diet. Ryan wasn’t a fan of the vinegar, but he ate it anyway :)

Leave a Reply

