b25k

image

Yesterday I ventured outside for a run. My first run in 6 months! *gulp* I have to admit I was nervous.  I wasn’t sure how to start back up again…honestly, I’m not even sure why I want to.  BUT, I do.

There is all sorts of info on how to start running online.  For instance, the couch to 5k program (c25k). What I found was there isn’t a lot of info on how to start running after a little big hiatus that you remained active doing other things. (Holy crap that is a poor sentence!) Just not running things.  There is no bike to 5k program.

I have been active cross-country skiing, cross-fitting, and riding the trainer all winter. If I’m being totally honest, I haven’t done those things enough  either. Ugh! I digress.

Running is different from those activities.  Running is NOT forgiving of a break.  You can’t just jump right into a 5 mile run.  Well you can, but you wouldn’t walk right for a while.  You could even get injured, and no one wants that.

So, what’s a girl to do?!  Wing it! I decided on a 2.5 mile walk/run.  Guess what?  I didn’t die  :-)

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to b25k

  1. Ana says:

    Running is NOT forgiving! My word, it’s so hard to get back in the swing of things, but WOW, does it feel good when you don’t die! ;)

  2. Ann Rausch says:

    Why is it so hard!!!! I have a 5K mid May. I’m sooooooo out of practice with running.

Leave a Reply

